Philippines Mission Trip 2015

Disclaimer: It was written in March and I just realized that I haven’t post it. Sorry for the long hiatus, I will write new post again soon. ^^

* * *

Hello! It’s already March and I’m very very busy. Working 6 days a week, 15 hours per day in average, it’s really tiring but I have no other choice. By the way, on mid Feb, I got a chance to join mission trip to Philippines. Lots of practice and meeting were hold around late midnight but it was a great time. Now, I want to share few things about this trip.

  • God’s abundant grace

Not by my might, nor by power, but by God’s grace I can join this mission trip. I’ve been so busy with my workload in office so I rarely can join the prayer meeting or help others with the preparation. There were few times where I feel so tired and I want to give up this mission trip so I can take a rest at home during the holiday, but God says no. During the preparation and during the trip, there were moments when I just stopped for few seconds and said “I know it’s You, God. Thank you.” It’s all about Him so His name can be glorified.

  • Love

It`s easy to love others if you are in good condition. However, can you love others even though they are annoying? Can you love others when they make some mistakes and you have to be responsible for their fault? Love is more than a feeling. It is an attitude. Love is an action. Jesus did that and set an example for us.

On the first day, we went to some places where people live not-in-a-good-condition. There are so many children there, but I don’t want to interact with them. Why? Because since I was young, people around me told me to do that. We don’t know what will happen next if you interact with them, so we better stay away from them. But this time, I’m on a mission. I can’t stay away or ignore the kids. So I keep praying, asking God to pour out His love towards them through me. There was some kids who saw me from afar and give me a smile. I smiled back to them. Before we leave the place, some kids came to me and ask for a hug.
image

How can you resist these kids who comes to you and ask for a hug? That time, I know that the wall which separate me from the children has been broken by.. love. Once again, I learned how to love others regarding their status and condition.
image

  • Birthday

I have 2 birthdays now! Hihihi. More birthday cake and present for me next year? Woohoo!
I got re-baptized so I’m born again. I’m renewed in Christ. That is my second birthday. I have already baptized when I was 13 or something, but at that time, I don’t think I really know the meaning of it. Then, on 19 Feb 2015, I, an Indonesian, was baptized by Korean church in Bulacan City, Philippines and received prayer from Korean, Filipino and African. What an amazing moment and I’m glad I made decision to do that.
image

  • Freedom in worship

♬ 있는 힘 다하여 주 앞에 춤추리 ♬

I joined children worship team. We prepared 5 songs so the children can worship God by dancing. We went to kindergarten, elementary school and last, we had children worship in the middle of basketball court in a village. It was an amazing moment. All we did was dancing, jumping, singing, worship God together. We had this worship session about few hours a day, our legs hurts because we were keep jumping during the worship time, but hey, we did that because God is good and He put joy in our heart.
There was a time when I think I couldn’t jump anymore, no more dance, but God gave us new strength and if you were there, you can’t do nothing but worshiping together with all your heart, all your strength! It was tiring but worthed. I would definitely say YES if they asked me to do that again.
image

  • Community

There are people from 7 different countries that joined this trip: Korea, China, Philippines, Indonesia, US, Congo, and 2 other countries from Africa. I feel so blessed having this multicultural family in Christ. When a person said something, it will be translated at least in 3 languages. Hahaha.
Every tribe, every tounge, every people and nations, all join in God’s mission. How good and pleasant it is when God’s people live together in unity! (Psalm 133:1)
image

Last, I want to close this post with some words that my roomate and me always said after talking to each other before bed. “God is good. God is always good.”

* * *

Click here to read about my first mission trip to Philippines: part1, part2

Leave a Reply

